a Wrap Skirt for apple picking

For almost a year now i have had this red gingham sitting on my fabric shelf waiting to become a wrap skirt and finally this week i decided to go ahead and sew my skirt. so yesterday morning before my hubby went off to work i got all my pieces cut out. i was about 1/2 yard short so i really had to work my fabric to get all the pieces cut but i did it! i even have some fabric left over that i think i’m gonna use to extend the ties a bit longer. (i’m a fan of long ties). 

I used the wrap skirt pattern outta the book… Sew Everything Workshop. (which looks like its really similar to the wrap skirt in this book…Weekend Sewing: More Than 40 Projects and Ideas for Inspired Stitching)

It was a pretty easy skirt to sew, although i didn’t follow the pattern exactly, i didn’t make a hole for my tie to go through yet, i think i’ll wait to do that til next summer after i’m not pregnant and see how the skirt fits. I also didn’t make as big of a hem as the pattern called for, but i like it being a bit longer rather than shorter. I am really enjoying my skirt i even wore it today when we went apple picking. I asked my husband to take a good shot of it, but i don’t think he understand. so here are a few pictures that i do have….

And just because he looked so dang cute today here is my baby boy and his apples…

If you live here in a so cal and have never been i would recommend going to up to Oakglen and picking apples, they also have raspberries to pick right now. It was a ton of fun and a great family afternoon. and then of course we stopped at Bakers for a yummy shake! If you do go i recommend stopping at the Snow line orchard and trying their cider donuts, so yummmmy! we got them year before last when we went up in i think early november (which according to the website was still season) but there were no apples and the people thought we were nuts for thinking there would be.

5 Comments on “a Wrap Skirt for apple picking”

  1. Rach says:

    Cute skirt!!! And where exactly can I go pick apples in So.Cal? That sounds like so much fun!!!

  2. diana says:

    Will an average wrap skirt pattern work for maternity? Do you need to make alterations? I’m 6 months and so much belly that my regular M maternity clothes are getting uncomfortable. A nice light wrap skirt (I live on FT Irwin, btw) sounds like heaven in this heat!

    • domesticday says:

      I am not sure, i guess it would depend on where you wear it exactly. i am not that far along yet but i know iwth my first i was able to wear several of my regular clothes into my pregnancy cause of where it wore. However, my favorite and the easiest skirt i have ever sewn is this one from simplicty…. http://www.simplicity.com/p-2175-maternity-sportswear.aspx

      it is a skirt that can be a skirt or a dress. its super comfy and so easy i have tons from my first pregnancy! maybe i’ll blog them soon.

  3. diana says:

    Thank you so much!


Leave a Reply

