Its show time

My last handmade christmas gift to show off is my favorite gift i made, even more so than the clock which was my first favorite. This was a last-minute decision, i had contemplated making it before i made my plan for christmas for Harvey but decided to wait until next year because he didn’t seem to interested in his puppets. but then about a week before christmas he became so attached to them he would always take two with him everywhere he went, the weekend before Tyler and i decided what the heck let’s make him a puppet theater. on Saturday i headed to M&L (one of my favorite discount fabric stores) that was a story itself for another time…. but it did include having the lights turned off on me 🙂

Anyway we picked out our fabric and headed hom. the deal was only if i finished all my other projects would I sew the puppet theater for Harvey. and So on Wednesday night (the night before i planned to give it to him) i pulled out my fabric and started going! It took me about 4 or 5 hours i think, i was a little sore and tired and so rather slow. But oh did it turn out cute!!!

Harvey loved it, although he kept checking behind to make sure daddy was still there and hadn’t left him.

have your won puppet lover and want to make one… well don’t worry this one cost me about $12 ($4 for the curtain rod, and about $8 for the fabric.) It hangs on a tension rod so it can go anywhere and the pattern includes a carry case. I did use corduroy instead of cotton like the patterns calls for because on a recommendation of a friend who had made it before, the heavy fabric hangs better and she was right!

The pattern and instructions can be found in Bend-the-Rules Sewing. Which by the way is a great book for beginning sewers.

check it out and if you make one of your own I’d love to see the finished project!

Next on the list handmade puppets, need to find a tutorial!

2 Comments on “Its show time”

  1. Shannon says:

    Love this!! What a great gift. I think my kiddos would have a ball!

  2. […] of catch, Books, more books, Plush alphabet, Hanky box, train table, Puppet theater, Felt food , Fishing game, Water colors, Hats, Car mats, dresses, Matching […]


Leave a Reply

