Grandma’s Ravioli

My whole life my most favorite food was my Grandma’s Ravioli’s. She makes them from scratch and in bulk! and She learned from her mom, who is the first person to have ever showed me how to make them. Her and i made them though with a rolling pin that has the spots cut out for the ravioli. My grandma has sense showed me a better process, a <a href="Marcato Atlas Wellness 150 Pasta Maker, Stainless Steel"" “>Pasta machine for thining my dough (which she gave me) and a <a href="Norpro Ravioli Maker and Press"" “>raviloi press my hubby bought for me for Christmas.

I have been waiting since about February (when i got my pasta machine) to make my own ravioli’s.  So during my to do’s of ME time they were the most important thing on my list. With the one kid i had down for a nap i got out my ingredients and mixed my dough….

2 Cups Flour

4 eggs

Dash of salt

Table spoon Olive Oil

Mix ingredients in a mixer, when done Knead the dough until velvety and elastic. Then place in a floured ziploc and move onto filling.

The Filling is:

1 Container Ricotta Cheese (16oz)

Chopped spinach

Dash of nutmeg

Dash of Salt

1 egg

1/4 cup parmesan cheese

Mix it all together in metal bowl, then cover and place in fridge. and move back to the dough….

Cut off a piece of dough and work on thinning it out. For me i used my pasta machine rolling it through the first 6 levels to thin it out. You can use a rolling pin to do this, but make sure you thin it, if its to thick it will be to heavy when you go to eat it. The piece of dough also needs to be long enough to fold in half.

When your done place it on a floured ravioli tin, filling each center with the filling mixtrue. Then Fold the dough over, leaving one end open, and using your rolling pin to roll out any air. The press down and use the rolling pin again to cut the dough.

From here you can either freeze (which i did with most of my dough) or cook them up. They don’t take long simply drop them in boiling water.

Be warned the recipe makes a lot, Is rather messy, and takes a whole morning! But in the end its all so so worth it!!!

One Comment on “Grandma’s Ravioli”

  1. […] with the pasta machine (it really takes two people to use that thing!) I whipped up some home made ravioli. 6 Dozen to be […]


Leave a Reply

