Yarn Along

I’ve decided to keep myself accountable in both my Crocheting and my reading I am going to start joing the Yarn along over at Small Things. The idea is to post about both the book your reading your yarn project!

Right now I’m finishing up reading Simplicity Parenting: Using the Extraordinary Power of Less to Raise Calmer, Happier, and More Secure Kids. I am seriously loving it!!! A lot of the thoughts go along with things my husband and I both already believe, such as less toys, minimal screen time (if at all), fresh foods. The idea is the simpler life is in childhood the more adjusted adult your child will be. I only have a few pages left so hopefully tonight or tomorrow i can finish the next book which i have been reading. 🙂

My current Yarn project is a big one. I am in love with Dottie Angel’s patchwork blanket. So i decided i would attempt it, seemed easy enough. Especially for me a novice of almost 15 years (that’s how little i do this) who’s never done a project of this size before! I’ve had a few little mishaps so far, and lost count a lot! but its turning out good. Mine was gonna be 4 squares across but i’ve decided to add a 5th for balance with the colors i have randomly placed amongst the light grey wool felt i am in love with!!!

Well i off i go to work on those exact two things! a little reading time and then a movie with my hubby while i crochet away. I’m half way done and can’t wait to see it done!

Now head over and see the other projects and books!

4 Comments on “Yarn Along”

  1. Elizabeth says:

    I simply love Dottie Angel’s blanket that you linked to. I’m seriously considering using that as the inspiration for my daughter’s afghan….the only problem is she wasn’t too specific on the “how-to” part of it and I’m a relative newbie. Right now, I’m crocheting with ease Attic 24’s Granny Stripe blanket for my son due in June so hopefully Dottie Angel’s blanket won’t be a big deal. Found you through Ginny’s Yarn Along. Looking forward to your finished blanket.

    • domesticday says:

      Thanks for stopping by! Yeah i wish she gave a bit more “how-to” but i ended up doing each square 17 rows high, 30 stitches across. Its pretty close to square for me. and then i followed her directions for connecting each square so that you are adding as you go instead of stitching htem in the end. At first it looked horrible! but i’m slowly getting the hang of that part and i actually really like it.

  2. Karen says:

    thank you for posting the link to the patchwork blanket – I am so going to have to do that when I am done with my current projects!
    love your colors
    God Bless
    karen

  3. […] on it @ my other blog Intentional Motherhood. I am also making progress on my 3rd column of my blanket evening out errors i made in the previous column. Its going slow but i’m loving the way its […]


Leave a Reply

